|  IEEE Xplore Digital Library  |  IEEE Communications Society  |  IEEE Spectrum Online  |  More IEEE Sites           




Reimbursement forms can be downloaded here.

IEEE SECON 2013 Student Travel Grant Opportunities

The IEEE SECON 2013 conference is pleased to announce the availability of the following type of student travel grants:

  • A. Travel grants sponsored by the IEEE Communications Society.
  • B. US National Science Foundation (NSF) travel grant opportunity for US-based students (approval pending).

Following the application guidelines below, a student may apply to one or more of the two categories for which he/she is eligible. The eligibility criteria include:

  • A. These student travel grants are sponsored by the IEEE Communications Society. Applications are invited from qualified full-time graduate students. To qualify a student must (i) be a valid Student Member of the COMSOC; (ii) be a full-time student registered toward a Bachelors, Masters, or Ph.D. degree in engineering or related field in a college or university when submitting the application; (iii) be an author who will present an accepted paper at this Conference; (iv) not have received a similar grant in the past 12 months.
  • B. If the U.S. NSF supports this type of student travel grants, qualified graduate students should (i) be a co-author of a paper accepted by SECON 2013, and (ii) be studying in accredited U.S. institutions. Student recipients will be reimbursed (based on valid receipts) for their expenses after the conference. Only airfare on a US-based carrier will be reimbursed by this type of support!

Application Procedure

An application for a student travel award will consist of:

  1. A letter from the student, including, when applicable, the title of the paper that has been accepted for SECON 2013.
  2. The student's vita.
  3. A supporting letter from the student's graduate advisor.
  4. An estimate of the following costs of attending SECON: airfare, hotel, and conference registration. It is anticipated that travel grants will partially cover these overall costs of attending SECON 2013.
  5. The type(s) of travel grant the student is applying for (A, or B).

Incomplete applications will not be considered. 

The letter from the student should include (at most 1 page):

  1. A brief summary of research interests and accomplishments to date.
  2. A description of areas reflected in the SECON 2013 program that would impact the student's research, and a statement about why the conference attendance is important to the student.

The advisor's recommendation letter for the student should include:

  1. Confirmation that student is a bona fide full-time Ph.D. or M.S. candidate in good academic standing at the given institution.
  2. Ways this particular student would benefit from attendance at the conference.
  3. The strengths and potential contributions of the student.

Applicants should upload their applications through EDAS (after login to EDAS, click on the "Travel Grants" tab). Applicants should send their application materials following the instructions in the Travel Grants section on SECON 2013 site.

Application deadline: 5 May 2013 at 23:59 EST
Notification deadline: 17 May 2013
Awardee acceptance deadline: 20 May 2013 at 23:59 EST

Please contact the Student Travel Grant Chair Dr. Tommaso Melodia (tmelodia AT eng DOT buffalo DOT edu) if you have any questions.

ComSoc Student Travel Grant Award Winners
Zhaoquan Gu (Tsinghua University, P.R. China)

IEEE Student Travel Grant Winner
Zhaoquan Gu (Tsinghua University, P.R. China)

NSF Student Travel Grant Winners
Kang Chen (Clemson University)    
Bruce DeBruhl, II    (Carnegie Mellon University)    
Lara Deek    (University of California Santa Barbara)    
Navid Hamed Azimi    (SUNY Stony Brook)    
Shouling Ji    (Georgia Institute of Technology)    
Yanzhi Ren    (Stevens Institute of Technology)    
G. Enrico Santagati    (State University of New York at Buffalo)    
Kefeng Tan    (University of California, Davis)    
Nima Torabkhani    (Georgia Institute of Technology)    
Xiao Wang    (Carnegie Mellon University)    
Xinyu Xue    (Wichita State University)    
Xu Yuan    (Virginia Tech)    
Jindan Zhu    (University of California, Davis)    





home I  about  I  call for papers I  committee  I registration  I   program  I   travel  I  authors/presenters  I non-discrimination policy                  © 2013 IEEE Communications Society